Feedback and comments of our guests

Read the recent reviews and comments from the guests at MErcure Hotel Bielefeld Johannisberg.

Great location, comfortable accommodation, delicious breakfast, highly professional hotel manager

Great location in a quiet park, with a view over the city and at the same time at walking distance from the center of Bielefeld. Very clean, comfortable rooms. The breakfast is very diverse and well supplied, till 11:00 o'clock. Most impressive was the professional attitude of the hotel manager who responded very kindly and attentively to our request for a room change. We got a room upgrade for the same price as the first room and while waiting for arranging the room change we received free drinks. Thanks a lol to the manager! Bad: The first room (for three people) we received had a broken lamp, the phone and the heating did not work.

Marina on Booking.com, 12.01.2020

Exceptional

Very good hotel in beautiful location! spacious rooms and bathrooms. Many Thanks

Kasia on Booking.com, 10.01.2020

Convenient Modern Hotel Close to Old Town Bielefeld

I have stayed in many Mercure (Accor) hotels - so this review is somewhat comparative. I liked the fact that I was reserved a "non-allergic" room - because I had requested non feather pillows and bedding - that was really nice. The location of the hotel at the top of the hill overlooking the town was great - there is a staircase leading down to the historic old town (where at this time of year there is a Christmas market). The restaurant for dinner was modern and the food was beautifully served and presented - I especially recommend the goats cheese starter. The breakfast was nice and had a good selection. The bed was comfortable. Overall it was a nice stay overnight. Bad: The check in process was too long - there was a family checking in for the Christmas break and both the Receptionists were dealing with them and not myself and another guest. The carpets in the hall area of the corridor to the room were old, dirty and needed changing. The carpet in my room was also dirty and needed cleaning and the bathroom smelled very damp and needed airing or something. These are minor details but the interior decor in the rooms does not reflect the very modern decor in the main areas of the hotel.

Sharne on Booking.com, 24.12.2019

Exceptional

Breakfast and location Bad: Internet is very slow

Nurzat on Booking.com, 20.10.2019

Really nice hotel.

A bit difficult to find on a dark rainy night but a lovely welcoming hotel with good food and immaculate comfy room. Hotel staff pleasant and accommodating. So good we returned there on the way back to UK.

Wander61359765753 on TripAdvisor, 16.10.2019

After Mercure took over: more comfortable rooms, restaurant is nice, view is great.

After the switch from Park Inn to Mercure in 2017, the rooms have been renovated to be brighter, more modern, and bathrooms more comfortable (now a walk-in shower, but not sure if all rooms are like that. When traveling with kid, room rooms have comfortable bed sofa. Restaurant is still good. Bad: Some rooms are add the ground floor, which might be a bit "weird" when suddenly somebody is walking outside. The good thing: it is up a hill, not much folks around. It is also not the best hotel to "just go for a stroll to the city".

Geert on Booking.com, 13.10.2019

Good

Nice, clean hotel with a good and friendly staff

Martin on Booking.com, 21.09.2019

A perfect hotel to rest on a long journey.

Very good room size, clean bathroom, very good selection of breakfast food, very friendly service, perfect location of the hotel. We will return to the hotel again on our next trip. Bad: Nothing like that. Everything was perfect.

Zbigniew on Booking.com, 15.09.2019

Comfortable and relaxing stay

Large range of foods, very enjoyable and filling. Ate breakfast and didn't feel like eating until that evening.

Dusan on Booking.com, 01.09.2019

Awesome

The rooms were really clean and bathroom was spotless. Bad: The carpets in the main hallway need a bit of upgrade. They smell a bit funny :/

Marlena on Booking.com, 23.08.2019

Great value

Convenient for one night. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable bed. Too far from centre of Bielefeld for my taste. Bad: Location. Not near Altstadt.

Neil on Booking.com, 21.08.2019

Nice location with all you’d expect from a hotel at this price point.

Comfortable rooms, hotel location. Helpful staff. Bad: Room wasn’t ready for accommodating the sofa bed occupant in our group. This was however quickly rectified by staff.

B on Booking.com, 16.08.2019

Good

Sarapannya ok Bad: It is so so in this Hotel

Armen on Booking.com, 16.08.2019

VERY GOOD

It is an excellent hotel in small forest. The location is perfect, near the town and near the zoo. The room is big , cleanand the staff is friendly. Parking is outside the hotel with payment.Highly recommended!

theodoroszavras on TripAdvisor, 15.08.2019

Very Good

Perfect location Bad: No child menu in the restaurant

Steven on Booking.com, 05.08.2019

Exceptional

Ruhe

Gast on Booking.com, 25.07.2019

Nice hotel, service improvement necessary

We have stayed at am Johannesburg before, both when it was a Novotel and last summer. The hotel have gotten a very nice redecorating, but the service has deteriorated somewhat since last year. The service in the restaurant was nice but somewhat inexperienced about what was on the menu. As a card-holder i was offered a welcoming drink, but my husband had to pay for his, even if it said on the card, that all the guests in my room should have one too. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for german standards

teacherDK on TripAdvisor, 14.07.2019

Nice business Hotel

On the top of a hill in Bielefeld surrounded by trees, quite location very close to the center of the city. Comfortable rooms and a nice terrace where you can have lunch with a beautiful view to the castle. Large free parking.

oreste c c on TripAdvisor, 04.07.2019

Shaun’s review

Very good apart from staff had poor service

Shaun on Hotels.com, 17.06.2019

A good stay.

Friendly staff and quite good location. Greenery surrounding on the hill, which is nice and peaceful. Bad: A little bit far to walk to the city (although it's a good exercise and within acceptable distance). Only if you're late at night from the city to the hotel, better off to take a taxi, as the walking track is dark.

Anonymous on Booking.com, 06.06.2019

Good - but windows need to be more sound proof

The location is perfect if you have a car - because public transport is not great in the area and there is not much happening around. The alternative is a taxi - which is not super expensive. However, a short downhill walk (about 15 mins) takes you to the centre of the city - but you have to climb back up the entire way (good stuff to stay fit on vacation). The room is fine but not many closets with clothes hangers. The staff are very friendly and nice - and that was one of the best things about this hotel. Breakfast was fine - but the same everyday. So, if you stay long enough - you are likely to stop enjoying it. Since the location is on a hill - the views are great (but you get such - or better - views from other locations of interest in the city, such as, the castle). My main complaint was - our room was near the parking lot and we could hear the noise on Friday/Saturday nights - which was quite annoying.

Traveler on Hotels.com, 28.05.2019

Loger à Bielefeld et être au vert

The nature. Bad: The prices of the restaurant are too high.

Luc on Booking.com, 17.05.2019

Good

not bad Bad: ok

Yusuf on Booking.com, 01.03.2019

Very comfortable and friendly

The restaurant and good excellent food Bad: The disabled room

Anne on Booking.com, 08.02.2019

We had a fantastic time at the hotel

Yes Bad: Double dovet, instead of two singles on a double

Kapembwa on Booking.com, 06.01.2019

Awesome

WiFi is awful!!! Not suitable at all for a business trip when you're expected to communicate globally via video calls.

Anton on Booking.com, 24.12.2018

Wonderful

Alles. Bad: War alles Nice.

Deinemudda on Booking.com, 08.12.2018

Hill top experience

The place is clean and what I like about is quiet up at the hill top over looking the city. Walking into the city is just 10mins.

Alan on Hotels.com, 13.10.2018

a stopover...

was just a night stay to break our long journey to the next destination. room is good n work table is big enough plus placed by the window with natural lights. breakfast was ok apart from that the croissants and viennoiseries are a bit too dry :( unlike other hotels that I've been they r kept warm. Coffee has a strange after taste, most probably it's time for the machine to be détartrage ;) Otherwise, we've enjoyed our stay, nice hotel up the hill surrounded by the nature

Climber802764 on TripAdvisor, 09.10.2018

good night sleep at the Mercure

Comfortable, free parking, large rooms

Traveler on Hotels.com, 03.10.2018
Contact

Mercure Hotel Bielefeld Johannisberg
Am Johannisberg 5
33615 Bielefeld
Germany